Ockham Book Awards - Latest News [Page 1]

New Zealand’s Premier Book Awards’ Longlist Packs a Punch

Thursday, 30 January 2020, 9:24 am | Ockham Book Awards

The 40 books longlisted for the 2020 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards announced today are a wide-ranging and inspiring collection reflecting the diversity of contemporary Aotearoa and the excellence of our writers, artists and publishers. More >>

Judges Announced for 2020 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards

Thursday, 29 August 2019, 10:28 am | Ockham Book Awards

Award-winning writers and poets, former publishers, academics, long-standing booksellers and a well-known journalist are among the 12 people selected to judge the 2020 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards. More >>

‘Urgently Relevant’ Novel Wins NZ’s Richest Literary Award

Wednesday, 15 May 2019, 10:18 am | Ockham Book Awards

Dame Fiona Kidman has won this year’s $53,000 Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards for her novel, This Mortal Boy , a work described by the judges as ‘moving, memorable, authentic and urgently relevant to our times.’ More >>

2019 Ockham Finalists Explore Truth and Issues of Our Times

Wednesday, 6 March 2019, 9:47 am | Ockham Book Awards

Four of our best-known novelists – whose novels, appropriately for our times, explore what it means to tell the truth – are in the running for the country’s richest fiction writing prize with today’s Ockham New Zealand Book Awards finalist announcement. ... More >>

Ockham New Zealand Book Awards Winners Announcement

Wednesday, 16 May 2018, 9:04 am | Ockham Book Awards

A novel which judges say ‘will bring readers back from the dead’ has won the 2018 $50,000 Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize in the country’s premier book awards. More >>

2018 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards judges announced

Tuesday, 29 August 2017, 9:28 am | Ockham Book Awards

Prize-winning authors are among the twelve judges of the 2018 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards, joining journalists, academics and commentators charged with the task of selecting this country’s finest books of the year. More >>


InfoPages Links